Beed's Lake is a popular boating spot due to its scenic beauty. Motors of any size may be used at "no wake" speeds on the lake. A modern boat ramp is located on the southern shore of the lake.
Beed's Lake State Park has provided visitors with a variety of recreational opportunities since 1934. One unique feature of the park is the causeway that crosses the lake near the lodge. It provides more than one-third of a mile of great shoreline fishing as well as a convenient pathway for hikers and joggers. Another focal point of the park is the unusual 170 foot-long spillway with horizontal layers of limestone dropping abruptly 40 feet. It was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s.
In 1857, T.K. Hansbury built the first dam to supply water for the operation of a sawmill. Two years later, water power was used to operate a flour mill. William Beed put in the long causeway when he bought the property in 1864. He operated the mill until 1903.