Information on:

Barr Lake State Park

13401 Picadilly Road
303-659-6005

Bicyclists of all ages and abilities, nature hikers and horseback riders enjoy the level 8.8-mile multi-use trail that circles the lake, passing by several wildlife viewing stations and the park's wildlife refuge. More than 350 species of birds have been spotted in the park. Numerous bald eagles winter at Barr Lake and one pair stays to nest and raise its young every year. Barr Lake's Nature Center has displays about the park's wildlife and you can have your questions answered by a naturalist. 

Fishing enthusiasts and boaters, including kayakers and canoeists, enjoy the lake's calm waters as powerboats are limited to electric trolling or gasoline motors 10 horsepower or less. Channel catfish, small and large-mouth bass, rainbow trout, walleye, bluegill, wiper and tiger muskie are among the species that inhabit the waters of Barr Lake. Get Coloradoboating registration and regulation information.



Reviews

Ryan V

Rating:
Sunday, April 22, 2018
Beautiful, serene, and inexpensive. If you have time to kill on your way to the airport, it is just a few backroads away. Many different walks to take.

Julie Dailey

Rating:
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Went to go fishing from the shoreline. You need a boat, it was not shoreline friendly. Nice park for the kids, info about the stocked fish and walk paths for easy hiking.

Matthew M.

Rating:
Wednesday, Aug. 9, 2017
Awesome trail but no dogs allowed 😕

A Roebuck

Rating:
Saturday, July 1, 2017
Awesome place

Stacey Rivenburg

Rating:
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Barr Lake State Park is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at Barr Lake State Park

Sunset Pontoon Boat Tours

Friday, May 25, 2018 from 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Nature Walk And Talk

Saturday, May 26, 2018 from 10:00am to 12:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Basic Archery Instruction

Sunday, May 27, 2018 from 11:00am to 1:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Full Moon Hike - The Man on the Moon Speaks

Tuesday, May 29, 2018 from 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

J.A.T.T Bike Ride

Friday, Jun 1, 2018 from 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Saturday Guided Bird Walk

Saturday, Jun 2, 2018 from 9:00am to 11:00am
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Basic Archery Instruction

Sunday, Jun 3, 2018 from 11:00am to 1:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Tuesday Evening Outings on the Eagle Express

Tuesday, Jun 5, 2018 from 4:00pm to 7:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Nature Walk And Talk

Saturday, Jun 9, 2018 from 10:00am to 12:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Adventure Overnight Camp

Saturday, Jun 9, 2018 from 5:00pm to 10:00am
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Friday Night Campfire Tales

Friday, Jun 15, 2018 from 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Tuesday Evening Outings on the Eagle Express

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2018 from 4:00pm to 7:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Nature Walk And Talk

Friday, Jun 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 12:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Sunset Pontoon Boat Tours

Friday, Jun 22, 2018 from 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Barr Lake Birders

Saturday, Jun 23, 2018 from 10:00am to 12:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Adult Polymer Clay Workshop

Sunday, Jun 24, 2018 from 1:00pm to 3:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

Full Moon Hike - Summer Solstice and the Strawberry Moon

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 from 7:30pm to 8:30pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

International Mud Day

Friday, Jun 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 12:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »

J.A.T.T Bike Ride

Friday, Jul 6, 2018 from 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Barr Lakes State Park Nature Center
Read More »